To Family

With every breath, I feel the burn

Of the fires intensified by longing

As the night changes, I come crashing

Under the light of stars, I weep

For the voices and faces and songs

For the separation that still takes its toll

With others’ company, I am incomplete

Always yearning for old words

So raw, real and immensely humbling

Along the distance, I drown

In confusion and desire and pain

With love so vast, being unconditional

In another land, I feel weak

Deprived of the embrace of my people

These times, I just want to be home

Leave a Reply

